Hot Springs County Treasurer News & Announcements
Second Installment of 2014
Taxes are due on or before
May 10, 2015
Property Tax Refund Applications/Brochures are now
For information contact the County Treasurer.
Application must be filed by the FIRST MONDAY IN JUNE.
Vehicle sales tax exemption for
tribal member now only applies if the sale occurs on the Wind River Indian Reservation.
The Treasurer’s office will require
evidence that the property was delivered by the seller to a location on the Wind
River Indian Reservation.
Acceptable evidence will be a shipping document
provided by the common carrier or an Affidavit Of Delivery .
The Wyoming Department
of Revenue is requesting that the Affidavit of Delivery be placed on company letterhead
and the purchaser has to sign it as well.
This also applies to person-to-person
Julie Mortimore, Treasurer
415 Arapahoe St
Thermopolis, Wyoming 82443
Tel: (307) 864-3616
Requirements to license a vehicle: Wyoming Title - proof of insurance on motorized vehicles - proof that the vehicle was registered in another state to you or proof that you paid sales tax. If this is a new purchase, you will be charged sales tax based on the rate in effect in your Wyoming place of residence. Sales tax must be paid within 50 days of purchase or be subject to penalty and interest on the tax amount.
Motor Vehicle county fees are based on the original value (factory price) of the vehicle from the factory to the dealer plus all options. This gives the valuation which is then multiplied by 3% which gives the county fee. This fee is in lieu of property tax and can be deducted from federal income tax if you file the long form. The state fee is a flat fee of $15.00 for cars and campers. Trucks, trailers and motor home`s state fee is based on weight.
Example: 08 Car factory price $35,000.00 x 60% = $21,000 x 3% = County fee $630.00. This fee is pro-rated downward for the first 6 years of the life of the vehicle till the formula would be $35,000.00 x 15% = $5250.00 x 3 % County fee $157.50. The % is as follows: 60% - 50% - 40% - 30% - 20% - 15%
There is a calculator for estimating your cost on the Wyoming County Treasurer`s Association site http://www.wcta.us/
As you can see the more expensive your vehicle the more it costs to license in Wyoming. Wyoming is not cheap when it comes to motor vehicle fees. Please contact us for more information if you plan to move to our state.
You are required to license immediately upon employment, even if you are self-employed, or you have 120 days if not employed or retired as long as you are currently registered in another state.